Passion for Journalism

Posted: October 12, 2009 in OSU Social Media
Tags:

The German poet and dramatist, Christian Friedrich Hebbel (1813 – 1833) said, “Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion.” 

What really drew me to journalism was my experience with Toastmasters.  I found out about Toastmasters online.  I found out it was a public speaking club that develops effective communication skills.  People attend for a myriad of reasons.  Some want to be able to get over shyness.  Some want to be more effective in business; some may want to develop preaching skills for their church.  It is also a great way to network within the community.  Whatever the reason, I found it was a great platform to gain new communication skills. 

On my first visit I was impressed with the open and friendly social atmosphere.  I felt that it really didn’t matter if a speaker made a mistake in their presentation.  Positive feedback and words of encouragement followed every speech.   After every meeting we ate out for a time of socializing.

I even found a job through one of the member’s guests who was looking for an employee.  There I was!  I discovered how effective networking was, which is why journalism and broadcasting with an emphasis in public relations intrigued me.

Well, as I was writing my speeches and presenting them before the group, I discovered a love for writing speeches.  I was getting inspired, and enjoyed sharing my speeches with the group.  I even brought other people to come and join the group.  I was excited about my new find. 

After being involved with Toastmasters for a few years, I went back to school for journalism, which brought me to where I am today.  

Oklahoma State University was a great choice for me.  I found other people who are passionate about what they do.  Take the OSU-Tulsa library, for example.  I’ve never met more passionate librarians.  They love helping students and are very good at it.  If I had a project or paper I was struggling with, the librarian would give me so many options and really wanted to understand exactly what she could do to help me succeed.  Teachers and staff are also helpful in their areas of expertise.  It is a wonderful environment for learning.   I would recommend OSU to anyone who wants to follow a dream.

Leave a Reply

