OSU Journalism and Broadcasting – Social Media

Posted: October 4, 2009 in OSU Social Media
Tags:

The world is changing.  Shouldn’t we change with it?   The Oklahoma State University School of Journalism and Broadcasting program now provides students with not only the traditional journalism classes, but also cutting-edge classes such as social media. 

The whole experience in journalism and broadcasting has been a new adventure for me as a non-traditional student.  Each class in the program takes journalism to a new level of experience to prepare me for a great career.  Take social media, for example.  My emphasis is public relations.  This class is exciting because students learn about innovative ways of communicating with the public.  The public includes, but is not limited to, students and faculty, professionals, organizations, and the general public. 

This summer I started using Facebook just to connect with friends and family.  It was fun to connect with people from all over the country I haven’t seen for many years.  Then, when I started an online OSU Social Media class, I started to discover how useful it is, not only for connecting friends and family, but also how it also works well for organizations and businesses.  It boggles my mind just to think how people who I would normally never be able to connect with can be reached through social media.  The world seems to shrink in perspective as technology develops more avenues of communication.  

According to an online article from Peter Kim, http://www.beingpeterkim.com/, businesses are changing from a more traditional way of operating, to what he calls social business.  He compares the traditional with panopticons.  The Wikipedia defines panopticon:

The Panopticon is a type of prison building designed by English philosopher and social theorist Jeremy Bentham in 1785. The concept of the design is to allow an observer to observe (-opticon) all (pan-) prisoners without the prisoners being able to tell whether they are being watched, thereby conveying what one architect has called the “sentiment of an invisible omniscience.”[1]

Bentham himself described the Panopticon as “a new mode of obtaining power of mind over mind, in a quantity hitherto without example.”

The new way of social business as Kim puts it, “Social business requires a focus on physical reality.  “Real life” as some Humana - Innovation - Article by Pete Kim 4.13.09would say.  And for corporations, that means rethinking the office space.  Yesterday I heard it called “the forgotten factor.”  Indeed.  Some spaces I’ve seen have a fairly open arrangement, like the Humana Innovation Center.  But most follow a traditional hierarchically-based system of awarding senior people with prime observation positions.”

The way things are going, social media technology will change the way organizations and businesses function.  They will need to adapt to the change or be left behind.  OSU prepares students for future change.

Comments
  1. Stephen Holm says:

    Just wondering what the end game for you is. Are you looking to get a job in speech writting? Or to write for a news paper, that might be too late since they are quickly moving towards extinction. You are an insperation. I just retired and need to look for new life outlets.

    • kathynygaard says:

      I’m not too much interested in being a reporter. I’ve considered speech writing. My dream job has been travel writing, however, I’ve seen other positions that I would also consider. I still have quite a few classes to go through before graduation. The classes may open up other options. All I know is that I’m on a path and enjoy what I’m doing. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

